The expiration date for Pennsylvania driver’s licenses, photo ID cards, and learner’s permits scheduled to expire between March 16, 2020 and August 31, 2020, have been extended until August 31, 2020.
The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) is implementing the following operational changes in response to Governor Wolf’s mitigation guidance regarding COVID-19. All driver license centers and photo license centers, as well as the Harrisburg Riverfront Office Center, remain closed. These closures include all counties in Pennsylvania.
Additionally, expiration dates for driver licenses, identification cards, and learner’s permits are further extended:
- Driver licenses, photo ID cards and learner’s permits that have an expiration date scheduled to expire from March 16, 2020 through May 31, 2020, the expiration date is now extended through June 30, 2020.
The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) posted an updated MV-70S – Schedule of Fees. The edition date in the upper right corner of the form is 4/19.
The updated form shows the motor vehicle fees in effect until June 30 along with the fees that take effect July 1.
For example, the fee to renew a one-year passenger vehicle registration that expires on or before June 30 is $37. For a vehicle registration expiring July 1 or later, that fee rises to $38.
Always refer to the MV-70S to determine the appropriate fee—and the effective date of the fee—when completing PennDOT paperwork. Failing to charge the correct fee may cause a rejection for insufficient fees.
- Go to PennDOT’s website, https://www.dmv.pa.gov.
- Click the “Forms and Publications” icon.
- On the Forms and Publications page, click the “Search” button.
- Enter “MV-70S” in the search box and press Enter.
- Click the link for “PennDOT MV-70S” to open a PDF file of the form.
PennDOT has made a change to the Fee for Local Use Annual Fee, section 1935(b) of the Vehicle Code. It was amended to make the Fee for Local Use an annual fee (the extra $5 you pay to register your vehicle).
The fee will now be based on the number of years a customer wants to register their vehicle. Customers who register their vehicle for multiple years will pay the annual $5 fee for every year of registration. This means a customer will pay a fee of $10 for a two-year and $25 for a five-year vehicle registration.
The fee is collected by PennDOT at the time the vehicle is initially registered and when the registration is renewed. The annual fee will not be collected at the time a registration is transferred to another vehicle.
This amended policy becomes effective on February 21, 2019.
The fax number to use when requesting authorization from PennDOT to extend the expiration for a temporary registration has changed. The new fax number is 717-265-7591 to request an authorization code from PennDOT to extend a temporary registration card. [Read more…] about PennDOT Fax Number Changed for Temp Registration Extension
PennDOT along with state and municipal police will take part in the national “Drive Sober or Get Pulled Over” initiative through Labor Day. Pennsylvania’s DUI Task Force, the Pennsylvania State Police and local law enforcement will conduct checkpoints and roving patrols as part of the crackdown. During last year’s Labor Day weekend, there were 144 alcohol-related crashes and 16 fatalities. When you find yourself in a car accident caused by someone else then contact Birmingham Car Accident Attorneys | Serious Injury Law Group and they help to get your fair compensation.