The Pennsylvania Department of Transportation (PennDOT) published a new driver licensing form: Form DL-901. The new form combines four forms that are used for learners’ permits, photo ID cards and non-commercial drivers’ licenses.
Gov. Corbett has signed Act 81, a new law that institutes changes to the Vehicle Code involving graduated driver licensing requirements, passenger restrictions for junior drivers and passenger restraint laws. The law will take effect on Dec. 24, 2011.
Attention Pennsylvania motor vehicle agents: If you have any CDL manuals that were ordered between January 2011 and May 2011, please check them for missing and duplicate pages.
The National Automobile Dealers Association (NADA) has issued an update to some passenger car values in the April 2011 edition of the NADA Official Used Car Guide.
Vehicle dealers are now required to alert consumers when their credit scores affect the terms of their purchases.
PennDOT has increased the cost of the photograph for driver’s licenses and identification cards. Effective immediately, the four-year photo fee will increase by $1.50, from $7 to $8.50, an increase of 37.5 cents per year.
PennDOT has enabled customers to check the availability of a personalized (vanity) plate configuation of letters and numbers before submitting an application and paying the fee.
Effective Aug. 1, 2009, all PennDOT agents are required to submit legible photocopies of the front and back of one of their customers’ acceptable Pennsylvania identification credentials to PennDOT, along with their title and registration applications.
PennDOT reminds motor vehicle agents and messengers that they must provide an active E-mail account to receive Driver and Vehicle Service Updates.
Disciplinary actions announced by the Department of State included suspensions of notary commissions, probation, and civil penalties.